OOIDA members can receive a special discount/rebate on two EPA-certified APU’s, ThermoKing TriPac Evolution and RigMaster’s MTS T4-6 and LG200 for $200 and $300, respectively. The TriPac unit is only offered through the CSTK dealership in Kansas City, KS.

The OOIDA Foundation has received a grant from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Region 7 (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, and Nine Tribal Nations) to partially reimburse those truck owners who purchase and install an EPA certified auxiliary power unit (APU). The funding is available from October 2018 through December 31, 2020. To be eligible to participate, applicants must:

  • Be registered in one of the four states covered by Region 7 (IA, KS, MO, NE)
  • Have a truck(s) with an engine manufacturing date from 1996 through 2006
  • Purchase an EPA certified APU
  • Complete quarterly forms verifying the number of hours spent idling

If selected to participate, awardees will receive a reimbursement for 25% of the purchase price for the APU. The reimbursement will be paid in quarterly increments until December 31, 2020. For example, if an individual purchased an EPA certified APU for $8,000, they will receive a total reimbursement of $2,000 ($8,000 APU cost × 25% = $2,000 total reimbursement), which will be distributed per quarter.

The reimbursements per quarter however are adjusted depending on how many quarters remain until the 2020 deadline. For example, if the individual purchased the APU in October 2018, they will receive $250 each quarter for eight quarters ($2,000 total reimbursement ÷ 8 quarters = $250), starting January 1, 2019. Whereas if an individual purchased an APU in October 2019, they will receive $500 each quarter for four quarters ($2,000 total reimbursement ÷ 4 quarters = $500), starting January 1, 2020.

Again, the reimbursement of funds is dependent on the individual completing their quarterly form signifying the number of idling hours. For more information, email the Foundation Department at FoundationDept@ooida.com, or view the Participant Agreement Form.